Police and Fire Pension Board

The Police and Fire Pension Board is responsible to maintain and administer a the pension system, with specific tasks including: authorize appropriations and deductions from salaries to go into the fund, authorize retirements and other draws from the fund, provide for actuarial valuations and monitor and authorize related actuarial assumptions, and provide for a diversified investment strategy with a reasonable balance between risk and return. The ultimate financial objective of the board is to fund pension benefits through a level percentage of active member payroll which will not dramatically increase for future generations. The board for each fund is responsible for overseeing administration of the plan, including meeting investment goals and making distributions to retirees in accordance with actuarially determined amounts.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are scheduled for the third Wednesday of each month at 8:00 a.m. in the 2nd Floor Conference Room at City Hall.  Meeting's can be cancelled or rescheduled, if necessary. The Board meetings are governed by the latest edition of Roberts’ Rules of Order.

You can find information on the Police and Fire Pension Board meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes via the meeting portal: Agendas and Minutes 

Membership and Term

The board consist of five (5)  members, two members from the public, City Finance Director/Treasurer, an active representative from the Police and Fire Department. The members appointed by the City Commission. All members must be City residents.  All member serve indefinite terms. 

Current Board Members

Kristin Collins | By Virtue of Office -Finance Director | Term Expiration -Indefinite

Darrell Harp | Police Appointment | Term Expiration -Indefinite     

Phil Sheppard | Fire Appointment | Term Expiration -Indefinite

Sabrina Oshelski  | City Commission Appointment | Term Expiration -Indefinite      

Joe Nolan | City Commission Appointment | Term Expiration -Indefinite 

Boards and Commission Application Process

Please submit completed Boards and Commission Application to:

Email: rtroyer [at] saultcity.com
Mail: City of Sault Ste. Marie - Robin R. Troyer, Deputy City Manager, 225 East Portage Avenue, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783