Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is the approval authority for all major site plan applications. Making recommendations to the City Commission on matters such as rezoning, zoning ordinance amendments, lot splits and land divisions, and street or alley vacations. Additionally, the Planning Commission is also the body responsible for drafting and maintaining the currency of the City’s Master Plan. From time-to-time, the City Commission may request the Planning Commission’s opinion on issues impacting the community.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are scheduled for the fourth Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers at City Hall. Meeting's can be cancelled or rescheduled, if necessary. The Board meetings are governed by the latest edition of Roberts’ Rules of Order.

You can find information on the Planning Commission meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes via the meeting portal: Agendas and Minutes 

Membership and Term

The board consist of nine (9) members. The members appointed by the Mayor with confirmation of the City Commission.  All members must be City residents.  All members serve three (3) year terms.

Current Board Members

  • Tim McKee Jr. (Term Expiration 4/19/26)
  • Stephanie Roose (Term Expiration 4/19/25)
  • Wendy Hoffman (Term Expiration 4/19/23)
  • Derric Knight (Term Expiration 4/19/26)
  • Charles McCready (Term Expiration 4/19/22)
  • Joe Gallagher (Term Expiration 4/19/22)
  • Vacant (Term Expiration 4/19/24)
  • David Markham (Term Expiration 4/19/24)
  • Angela Patterson (Term Expiration 4/19/24)
  • Steve Habusta, City Commission Liaison (non-voting member)

Boards and Commission Application Process

Please submit completed Boards and Commission Application to:

Email: rtroyer [at]
Mail: City of Sault Ste. Marie - Robin R. Troyer, Deputy City Manager, 225 East Portage Avenue, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783